The Grand Circle Road Trip 2015 Part 2 – Canyonlands National Park

RT042015-179-BLOG

RT042015-195-BLOG

RT042015-201-BLOG

RT042015-209-BLOG

RT042015-212-BLOG

RT042015-227-BLOG

RT042015-228-BLOG

RT042015-236-BLOG

RT042015-238-BLOG

Here is the second chapter of my road trip. Canyonlands National Park is only a short distance from where I stayed in Moab, Utah. I had a very early start to arrive for sunrise. I wanted to see the popular mesa arch, part of the island in the sky district. I arrived a little late for the actual sunrise as I was busy with other photo ops on the way there. It was probably best as the crowd of other photographers were gone and I pretty much had the place to myself, and there was still some nice colour in the sky. The views were breath taking. The arch naturally frames the La Sal mountains in the distance as well as the canyon below. After many frames I decided that I would brave the walk across the arch. I probably wouldn’t have another chance in my life. It’s about 3-4 feet wide and spans 50 feet across. At the top I set up my tripod for more photos. I’m not really afraid of heights but I have to admit you do get a little weak in the knee’s looking down a 500 foot vertical cliff below. Every step has to be well calculated, but now I can say I did it. Check one for the bucket list. Another stop included the green river overlook with an elevation of just over 6000 feet the sights were amazing. You can see around 100 miles on a clear day.

Leave a Reply

