A New Direction With Hometown Inspirations

Hello friends. Been awhile since my last post. It’s time to explore something new. Finally had a chance in recent weeks to use my D800 for it’s intended use. I love this camera and all 36MP of it. Amazing detail. Landscapes are something I’ve always loved and wanted to really start testing the waters. Still learning the technique so please be nice haha. All of these are taken either at sunrise or sunset. I’ve certainly pushed some limits in the cold. I now know that the D800 can handle minus temps no problem as I was out for all of these in temps ranging -3 to -12 for more then a couple of hours at a time, in the snow and rain too. I’m very confident how well camera is built. Also after much reading about how fast my batteries would drain I was very surprised to see very little stress on them. Being out for at least 2.5 hours and using live view for a lot of the low to the ground shots it hardly used half the charge. Very cool. All shots taken in the Toronto Area. Technical notes: All on a tripod, mostly manual focus with mirror lock up and remote trigger. Lens of choice: 24-70 F2.8 & 35 F2. Low ISO and some long exposures, F8-F13 from what I can remember. All auto white balance. Post work – bumped up the contrast and colour vibrance with some dodge and burning. This is just a start but I really hope to explore more this summer as well as wildlife and macro photography. Still always up for fashion and portraits, but this will be a welcomed break from that world. Hope you all enjoy.

One comment on “A New Direction With Hometown Inspirations

  1. bwbears says:

    Simply marvelous pictures. Enjoyed the gorgeous landscape a lot.

Leave a Reply

